2019 MAP Awards Nomination Period is Open

Honor a colleague, planning board member, local planning advocate, community planning program or completed plan from anywhere in Maine by submitting a nomination in one of the following categories: 

  • Professional Planner of the Year 
  • Citizen Planner of the Year 
  • Project or Program of the Year 
  • Plan of the Year 

Download the award criteria to help guide your submission. 

Submission requirements:

  • 2019 MAP Award Nomination Form

  • One-page summary of the submission or the individual's qualification (eligibility) and how the individual, plan, or project meets the criteria under the category (up to two pages). 
  • One (1) letter of recommendation in support of the submitted project or plan OR three (3) letters of recommendation for citizen planner or professional planner nomination

  • Optional: Supporting documentation to help the awards committee in reviewing the application, such as copies of documents, maps, plans, photographs, newspaper articles, etc. If needed to determine a winner, the committee may request additional information on how the criteria are met.

 The nomination period closes on Friday, April 19, 2019

In addition to the four annual awards, MAP honors planners that are retiring for a lifetime of service to the profession and to the State of Maine. The process for Lifetime Achievement Awards is separate, but the timeline is the same. Questions about MAP Awards can be directed to Carol Eyerman, Board President and Awards Committee Chair.

Past Award Winners

Plan | West End Neighborhood Master Plan, South Portland, Maine
Project | Maine Flood Resilience Checklist, SMPDC
Professional Planner | Lynne Seeley, Yarmouth, Maine
Citizen Planner | Don Fellows, Town of Lisbon

Plan | Lewiston Legacy
Project | Belfast Rail Trail
Professional Planner | Theo Holtwijk, Town of Falmouth
Citizen Planner | Don Russell, Town of Topsham

Lifetime Achievement Awards | Mark Eyerman, Chuck Lawton, Rodney Lynch, Tom Martin, Frank O'Hara, and Evan Richert

Plan | Falmouth Bicycle and Pedestrian Plan, Town of Falmouth
Project | The Rural Business Development Zone, Land Use Planning Commission (LUPC) & Northern Maine Development Commission (NMDC)

Plan | Bold Coast Scenic Byway Corridor Management Plan, Washington County Council of Governments
Project | River Landing Senior Housing Community, Developers Collaborative and Seacoast Management
Professional Planner | Jane Lafleur